Access the webinar

Date: February 24, 2021
Time: Noon to 1 p.m. (EST)

New insights on the role of milk products in the prevention of type 2 diabetes

RegistrationForm

The NutriNews® Newsletter is sent by Dairy Farmers of Canada. You may unsubscribe at any time with the link provided in every email.

All fields are mandatory.

Eleven million Canadians are living with diabetes or prediabetes. Roughly 90% of people living with diabetes have type 2 diabetes (T2D). There is currently a global epidemic of type 2 diabetes. Growing evidence suggests a protective role of dairy products in diabetes risk. The relationship between dairy consumption and type 2 diabetes has been examined in a number of studies including several meta-analyses. The totality of the evidence to date indicates that dairy, including higher fat milk products, as well as yogurt and cheese specifically, are associated with a reduced risk of developing type 2 diabetes.



By the end of this webinar, participants will:

  • Have a better understanding of the role of milk products in the prevention of type 2 diabetes;
  • Learn about new and emerging evidence on the role of milk products in the prevention of type 2 diabetes; and,
  • Get insights that can be applied in their daily practice.

Key topics:

  • Prevalence of type 2 diabetes (T2D), especially in Canada
  • Risk factors in the development of T2D
  • Scientific evidence on the role of milk products in the prevention of T2D
  • Potential mechanisms related to milk products in the prevention of T2D
  • New and emerging evidence: dairy fatty acids, fermented dairy foods

Speaker

  • Anthony Hanley, PhD

    Professor
    Department of Nutritional Sciences
    University of Toronto

Dr. Hanley received his PhD in Epidemiology in 2000 from the University of Toronto. He subsequently completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Texas Health Sciences Centre in San Antonio. From 2002-2005, Dr. Hanley was a Research Scientist at the Leadership Sinai Centre for Diabetes at Mt. Sinai Hospital, Toronto. Since 2005, Dr. Hanley has been a faculty member in the Department of Nutritional Sciences, University of Toronto, where he teaches, conducts research, and supervises graduate students.  His research is supported by the Canadian Institutes for Health Research, Dairy Farmers of Canada, and the University of Toronto Banting and Best Diabetes Centre.

Dr. Hanley’s research interests include the metabolic and nutritional epidemiology of type 2 diabetes and its underlying physiological traits, including obesity, insulin resistance and pancreatic beta cell dysfunction. His work focuses on longitudinal cohorts of understudied high-risk populations, including Indigenous Canadians, those of African and Hispanic origin, and non-diabetic subjects who are otherwise at very high risk of progression to diabetes, including those with pre-diabetes or the metabolic syndrome. For over 25 years, Dr. Hanley has had the privilege of working closely with Indigenous partners to address the heavy burden of type 2 diabetes in that population using a variety of approaches.

Moderator

  • Isabelle Neiderer

    Director, Nutrition and research
    Dairy Farmers of Canada

Accéder au webinaire

Date : 24 février
Heure : Midi à 13 h 05 (HNE)

Nouvelles perspectives sur le rôle des produits laitiers dans la prévention du diabète de type 2

Formulaire d'inscription

L’infolettre NutriNouvellesMD est envoyée par Les Producteurs laitiers du Canada. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps grâce au lien au bas de chaque courriel.

Tous les champs sont obligatoires.

Onze millions de personnes vivent avec le diabète ou le prédiabète au Canada. Environ 90 % des personnes diabétiques ont le diabète de type 2. Il y a actuellement une épidémie mondiale de diabète de type 2. Or, de plus en plus de données suggèrent que les produits laitiers ont un rôle protecteur en ce qui a trait au risque de diabète. La relation entre la consommation de produits laitiers et le diabète de type 2 a été examinée dans un certain nombre d’études, dont plusieurs méta-analyses. La totalité des données scientifiques disponibles à ce jour indique que les produits laitiers, y compris ceux à pleine teneur en gras, et particulièrement le yogourt et le fromage, sont associés à un risque réduit de développer le diabète de type 2.



Au terme de ce webinaire, les participants seront en mesure de :

  • Mieux comprendre le rôle des produits laitiers dans la prévention du diabète de type 2;
  • Découvrir les données scientifiques nouvelles et émergentes sur le rôle des produits laitiers dans la prévention du diabète de type 2; et,
  • Acquérir des connaissances applicables à leur pratique quotidienne.

Sujets abordés :

  • La prévalence du diabète de type 2, particulièrement au Canada
  • Les facteurs de risque associés au développement du diabète de type 2
  • Les données scientifiques sur le rôle des produits laitiers dans la prévention du diabète de type 2
  • Les mécanismes potentiels liés aux produits laitiers dans la prévention du diabète de type 2
  • Les données nouvelles et émergentes : acides gras laitiers, produits laitiers fermentés

Conférencier

  • Anthony Hanley, Ph. D.

    Professeur
    Department of Nutritional Sciences
    University of Toronto

M. Hanley a terminé en 2000 un doctorat en épidémiologie à l’Université de Toronto. Il a ensuite obtenu une bourse de recherche postdoctorale au University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Entre 2002 et 2005, M. Hanley a été chercheur scientifique au Leadership Sinai Centre for Diabetes du Mount Sinai Hospital, à Toronto. Depuis 2005, il est membre du corps professoral du Department of Nutritional Sciences de l’Université de Toronto, où il enseigne, mène des recherches et supervise des étudiants des cycles supérieurs. Ses recherches sont soutenues par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, les Producteurs laitiers du Canada et le Banting and Best Diabetes Centre de l’Université de Toronto.

Les intérêts de recherche de M. Hanley sont entre autres l’épidémiologie métabolique et nutritionnelle du diabète de type 2 et ses caractères physiologiques sous-jacents, notamment l’obésité, l’insulinorésistance et le dysfonctionnement des cellules bêta pancréatiques. Ses travaux sont axés sur des cohortes longitudinales de populations à risque élevé sous-étudiées, dont les Autochtones du Canada, les personnes d’origine africaine et hispanique, et les participants non diabétiques présentant un risque très élevé d’avoir le diabète, notamment ceux atteints de prédiabète et de syndrome métabolique. Depuis plus de 25 ans, M. Hanley a le privilège de travailler en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires autochtones afin de réduire le lourd fardeau que représente le diabète de type 2 au sein de cette population au moyen d’une variété d’approches.

Modératrice

  • Isabelle Neiderer, Dt.P.

    Directrice, Nutrition et recherche
    Les Producteurs laitiers du Canada